THE BAKSHI Laboratory of Systems and Synthetic Microbiology

We are a team of scientists and engineers interested in using experiments and modelling to examine and engineer microbes for fundamental and applied purposes. We collaborate with several other labs within the University of Cambridge and across the world to work on these problems together. Links to their websites and information about joining us are provided in the resource page. 


Somenath Bakshi (Google Scholar)

Assistant Professor (January 2019 - )

Postdoctoral research, Harvard University (September 2014 - Nov 2018)

PhD, University of Wisconsin Madison (December 2013)

Email:        Phone: +44 1223 3 32753

Tech Support

Narges Khadem Hosseini 

Narges is a Principal Technician in Biological laboratories. She provides technical support for the students.

Email:       Phone: +44 1223748509

Postdocs/ Research Associates

Alma Wu

Alma is a postdoc in synthetic biology. She completed her PhD at the University of Sydney in 2023, focusing on antibiotic resistance plasmids, and now works on engineering stable genetic circuits on both plasmids and chromosomes for therapeutic applications.  



PhD Students

Georgeos Hardo

Georgeos is 5th year PhD student in Biological Sciences (Systems & Synthetic Biology) from the BBSRC DTP programme. His current research is about developing image analysis tools for high-throughput single-cell microscopy, and using these tools to study bacterial dormancy and antibiotic persistence.

Personal website

Department website

Charlie Wedd

Charlie is the 4th year PhD student from the EPSRC Sensor CDT programme. His research focusses on characterising the bacteriophage infection cycle using single-cell time lapse microscopy. 


Jack Bradley

Jack is a 1st year PhD student from the AgriForwards CDT. He focuses on hardware; specifically creation of a bioreactor array for both bioproduction and analysis of GMOs across scales. 


Erez Li

Erez is currently a 1st year PhD student . He is  interested in understanding the role of physiological heterogeneity of bacterial cells in determining their response toward treatment with antimicrobials and bacteriophages. 


Aparna Kaaraal Mohan 

Aparna is a 1st year PhD student from the EPSRC Sensor CDT programme. She is working on developing microfluidic-microscopic approaches to understand the effects of cellular dormancy and resistance evolution towards phage therapy. 


James Morgan

James is research assistant, who is developing a modular open-source bioreactor with a focus on its using for long term evolution experiments of microbes. 



Jake Gozdziewski

Jake was an MPhil student from the Biotechnology programme. He was developing models to explore how microbes age and quantifying signatures of aging in model microbes (E. coli and B. subtilis) using timelapse fluorescence microscopy.  

Eva Chatry

Eva was an Mphil student in biotechnology. She was interested in the photophysics of fluorescent proteins, in particular, the assessment of maturation and bleaching rates to enable the screening and engineering of fast-maturing proteins. 


Nandini Praveenkumar

Nandini was a Master of research student in Connected Electronics and Photonics Systems. Her project involved designing Inline optical sensors for cell density


Yuan Han

Yuan was master of research student funded by Mathworks. His research was about finalizing the adaptive segmentation pipeline he developed in his fourth year and making it into a MATLAB teaching course as a Master student.


Rui Li - Deep-learning approaches for image processing

Roman Streslov - Computational fluid dynamics for microfluidics design optimisation

Francis Treherne Pollock - Analysing impacts of point-spread function on microscope images

Jorge Garcia Condado (4th year MEng), Maximilian Noka (4th year MEng), Soham Garg (4th year MEng)